Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Winners of 2010 Golden Kela Awards

By Anant Mathur (March 16, 2011)

The Golden Kela Award is a satirical take on Bollywood, where awards are given for the worst performances. The Golden Kela Awards was created by Random Magazine, India’s longest running humor magazine in the year 2009. 

The first annual Golden Kela award ceremony took place on 7 March 2009 in New Delhi (India).

The intention behind the Golden Kela is to ridicule the Hindi film stars and acknowledge the worst of Indian Cinema. Since, several award ceremonies each year celebrate the best of Hindi Cinema, Random Magazine and the Sundaas Film Institute chose to be different by giving away the Best of the Worst of Indian Cinema. The winners are selected each year by an online poll.

Winners of the 3rd Annual Golden Kela Awards... Cream of the crap:

Worst Actor
Shahrukh Khan
for My Name Is Khan

Worst Actress
Sonam Kapoor
for Aisha

Worst Supporting Actor
Arjun Rampal
for Housefull and We Are Family

Worst Supporting Actress
Kangana Ranaut
for Kites, No Problem, Once Upon A Time In Mumbai

Worst Film
My Name Is Khan
(Director: Karan Johar)

Worst Director
Sanjay Leela Bhansali
for Guzaarish

Worst Debutant Male
Aditya Narayan
for Shaapit

Worst Debutant Female
Pakhi Tyrewala
for Jhootha Hi Sahi

Most 'Original' Story Award
Action Replayy
(which was 'inspired' from Back to the Future)

Baawra Ho Gaya Hai Ke Award
Ben Kingsley
for Teen Patti

Most Atrocious Lyrics
Abbas Tyrewala for Cry Cry Kitna Cry
(from Jhoota Hi Sahi)

Most Irritating Song
Pee Loon
from Once Upon a Time In Mumbai

When Did This Come Out
Ek Second... Jo Zindagi Bana De?
(Director: Partho Ghosh)

The Worst Animated Film
Baru the Wonder Kid
(Director: Sachin Gote)

Lajja Award
(for the Worst Treatment of a Serious Issue)
Dunno Y - Na Jaane Kyun

Chimpoo Kapoor Award
(for No-Talent RELATIVES of Celebrities)
Uday Chopra

Most Ridiculous Sequence in a film
The whole Movie PRINCE
 (Director: Kookie V. Gulati)

Black Award
(for Emotional Blackmail)

Worst Named Film
Lafangey Parindey
(Director: Pradeep Sarkar)

Special Award
(for the Worst Trilogy Ever in the History of Films)
The Golmaal Series

Ajooba Award
(for Sheer Awesomeness)

Sonu Nigam Award
(for Career Suicide)
Sukwinder Singh
for Kuchh Kariye

Worst Casting EVER
Jackie Shroff
As Shirdi Sai Baba
in Maalik Ek

The Bas Kijiye Bahaut Ho Gaya Award
Ram Gopal Varma


© Anant Mathur. All Rights Reserved

No comments: