Tuesday, February 11, 2014

86th Academy Awards: Nominees

By Anant Mathur (February 11, 2014)

With Oscar night just a few of week away here are the list of nominees for this years Academy Awards ceremony:

Best Picture

-12 Years a Slave – Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, and Anthony Katagas
-American Hustle – Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison, and Jonathan Gordon
-Captain Phillips – Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti, and Michael De Luca
-Dallas Buyers Club – Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter
-Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón and David Heyman
-Her – Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze, and Vincent Landay
-Nebraska – Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa
-Philomena – Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan, and Tracey Seaward
-The Wolf of Wall Street – Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland, and Emma Tillinger Koskoff

Best Director

-Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity
-David O. Russell – American Hustle
-Alexander Payne – Nebraska

-Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
-Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actor    

-Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club as Ron Woodroof
-Christian Bale – American Hustle as Irving Rosenfeld
-Bruce Dern – Nebraska as Woody Grant
-Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street as Jordan Belfort
-Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave as Solomon Northup

Best Actress

-Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine as Jeanette "Jasmine" Francis
-Amy Adams – American Hustle as Sydney Prosser
-Sandra Bullock – Gravity as Dr. Ryan Stone
-Judi Dench – Philomena as Philomena Lee
-Meryl Streep – August: Osage County as Violet Weston

Best Supporting Actor

-Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club as Rayon
-Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips as Abduwali Muse
-Bradley Cooper – American Hustle as Agent Richard "Richie" DiMaso
-Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave as Edwin Epps
-Jonah Hill – The Wolf of Wall Street as Donnie Azoff

Best Supporting Actress

-Lupita Nyong'o – 12 Years a Slave as Patsey
-Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine as Ginger
-Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle as Rosalyn Rosenfeld
-Julia Roberts – August: Osage County as Barbara Weston-Fordham
-June Squibb – Nebraska as Kate Grant

Best Original Screenplay

-Her – Spike Jonze
-American Hustle – Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
-Blue Jasmine – Woody Allen
-Dallas Buyers Club – Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack
-Nebraska – Bob Nelson

Best Adapted Screenplay

-12 Years a Slave – John Ridley from Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup
-Before Midnight – Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, and Ethan Hawke; characters based on the films Before Sunrise and Before Sunset
-Captain Phillips – Billy Ray from A Captain's Duty by Richard Phillips and Stephan Talty
-Philomena – Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope from The Lost Child of Philomena Lee by Martin Sixsmith
-The Wolf of Wall Street – Terence Winter from The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort 

Best Animated Feature Film

-Frozen – Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, and Peter Del Vecho
-The Croods – Kirk DeMicco, Chris Sanders, and Kristine Belson
-Despicable Me 2 – Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin and Chris Meledandri
-Ernest & Celestine – Benjamin Renner and Didier Brunner
-The Wind Rises – Hayao Miyazaki and Toshio Suzuki

Best Foreign Language Film

-The Great Beauty (Italy) in Italian – Paolo Sorrentino
-The Broken Circle Breakdown (Belgium) in Dutch – Felix Van Groeningen
-The Hunt (Denmark) in Danish – Thomas Vinterberg
-The Missing Picture (Cambodia) in French – Rithy Panh
-Omar (Palestine) in Arabic – Hany Abu-Assad

Best Documentary – Feature

-20 Feet from Stardom – Morgan Neville, Gil Friesen (posthumous award), and Caitrin Rogers
-The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
-Cutie and the Boxer – Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher
-Dirty Wars – Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill
-The Square – Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer

Best Documentary – Short Subject

-The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life – Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
-CaveDigger – Jeffrey Karoff
-Facing Fear – Jason Cohen
-Karama Has No Walls – Sara Ishaq
-Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall – Edgar Barens

Best Live Action Short Film

-Helium – Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
-Aquél no era yo (That Wasn't Me) – Esteban Crespo
-Avant que de tout perdre (Just Before Losing Everything) – Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
-Pitääkö mun kaikki hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?) – Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
-The Voorman Problem – Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Best Animated Short Film

-Mr Hublot – Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
-Feral – Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
-Get a Horse! – Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
-Possessions – Shuhei Morita
-Room on the Broom – Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Best Original Score
-Gravity – Steven Price
-The Book Thief – John Williams
-Her – William Butler and Owen Pallett
-Philomena – Alexandre Desplat
-Saving Mr. Banks – Thomas Newman

Best Original Song
-"Let It Go" from Frozen – Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
-"Happy" from Despicable Me 2 – Pharrell Williams
-"The Moon Song" from Her – Karen Orzolek and Spike Jonze
-"Ordinary Love" from Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom – U2

Best Sound Editing

-Gravity – Glenn Freemantle
-All Is Lost – Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns
-Captain Phillips – Oliver Tarney
-The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Brent Burge and Chris Ward
-Lone Survivor – Wylie Stateman

Best Sound Mixing

-Gravity – Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, and Chris Munro
-Captain Phillips – Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, and Chris Munro
-The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, and Tony Johnson
-Inside Llewyn Davis – Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, and Peter F. Kurland
-Lone Survivor – Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, and David Brownlow

Best Production Design

-The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin (Production Design); Beverley Dunn (Set Decoration)
-American Hustle – Judy Becker (Production Design); Heather Loeffler (Set Decoration)
-Gravity – Andy Nicholson (Production Design); Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration)
-Her – K. K. Barrett (Production Design); Gene Serdena (Set Decoration)
-12 Years a Slave – Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Alice Baker (Set Decoration)

Best Cinematography

-Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki
-The Grandmaster – Philippe Le Sourd
-Inside Llewyn Davis – Bruno Delbonnel
-Nebraska – Phedon Papamichael
-Prisoners – Roger Deakins

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

-Dallas Buyers Club – Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
-Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa – Stephen Prouty
-The Lone Ranger – Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Best Costume Design

-The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin
-American Hustle – Michael Wilkinson
-The Grandmaster – William Chang Suk Ping
-The Invisible Woman – Michael O'Connor
-12 Years a Slave – Patricia Norris

Best Film Editing

-Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger
-American Hustle – Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, and Alan Baumgarten
-Captain Phillips – Christopher Rouse
-Dallas Buyers Club – John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
-12 Years a Slave – Joe Walker

Best Visual Effects

-Gravity – Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, and Neil Corbould
-The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, and Eric Reynolds
-Iron Man 3 – Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash, and Dan Sudick
-The Lone Ranger – Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, and John Frazier
-Star Trek Into Darkness – Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, and Burt Dalton

© Anant Mathur. All Rights Reserved.

No comments: